Aaaand We’re Back

I’ve made it back safely from another deployment. I learned a lot while I was over there, both about my profession and myself and I know that I will be able to apply that newfound knowledge to both my writing and my daily life going forward. Unfortunately, the flash-heavy requirements of the software used by WordPress and anti-blog filters on the networks fast enough to handle said requirements made it impossible to keep the blog up while I was gone. Now that I’m back and another NaNoWriMo is complete, that’s about to change.
While I was there, I completed another two books in addition to the dubious triumph that is my most recent NaNoWriMo project. Going forward, there will be a lot more in the way of author interviews and self-motivation stuff. I already have several essays complete and interviews lined up; I only need to polish them up a bit before they’re posted.
What about writing? Well, I’m almost done with year two of my six-year writing plan. The objective this year was simply to write as much as possible and crank out several novel-length manuscripts while solidifying the habits necessary to write often and well. By most accounts, I feel that I’ve accomplished those things, though it helped to be free of so many distractions for most of the past year. This next year will be the year I start to put some of my stuff out there. I’ve identified several writing contests that look both interesting and useful for developing writers and am currently outlining and writing shorter stories for those contests. It’s a bit of a change of gears, but I feel that it will be beneficial in the long run.
So, that’s about it. Look for more interviews and articles in the future and as always, if you have any critiques, suggestions, or general comments, post away or email me.

Leave a Reply

